Reminding the Accuser

AccuserOfBrethren“You’re no good.”  “You can’t be forgiven for that.”  “A real Christian would never do that.”  “You need to feel bad all day long after the sin you just committed.” 

I have heard these words many times since I began my journey with Christ.  I have had loving brothers and sisters in Christ tell me many times that I shouldn’t pay any attention to these words.  Yet, I have paid attention to them and even believed them many times.  But, not anymore.  My brother Mike reminded me very recently that when the Accuser, Satan, the devil says these things to me I must turn it around.  Instead of allowing the devil to remind me of my past failures, I need to remind him of his future.  It says of Satan in Revelation 12:10b, “… for the accuser of our brethren, who accused them before our God day and night, has been cast down.”  He accuses us of our past sins and those besetting sins that weigh us down on a regular basis.  But, take heart because we are assured that he has been cast down. As believers in Christ we have an advocate who stands in our favor, Jesus Christ.  The next time I am feeling the weight of accusation by our Enemy, I will thank Jesus for his grace, and I will remind Satan of these words from Scripture.

“When the thousand years are over, Satan will be released from his prison and will go out to deceive the nations in the four corners of the earth—Gog and Magog—and to gather them for battle. In number they are like the sand on the seashore.  They marched across the breadth of the earth and surrounded the camp of God’s people, the city he loves. But fire came down from heaven and devoured them.  And the devil, who deceived them, was thrown into the lake of burning sulfur, where the beast and the false prophet had been thrown. They will be tormented day and night for ever and ever.”    Revelation 20:7-10

I can say that my sins have been forgiven and covered by the precious blood of Christ.  But as for the accuser, he is a defeated, but powerful foe, that is on his way to torment.

Leave a Reply

